Official Statement

At 08:15 hrs. today, Sunday December 22, 2002, Mr. Hugh Desmond Hoyte, SC, MP, Leader of the PNCR and Leader of the Opposition passed away suddenly at his North Road residence Mr. Hoyte was re-elected at the Party’s Thirteenth Biennial Congress in August 2002 having been elected to this office at the Party’s Biennial Congress in August 1985 following the sudden death of the Party’s Founder Leader Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham on August 6, 1985.

In accordance with the provisions of the Party’s constitution, Attorney-at-law, Mr. Robert Herman Orlando Corbin, MP, has assumed the functions of Leader.

As stipulated by Rule 19 (4) (a) and (b) of the Party’s constitution, the Party’s General Council shall meet within sixty (60) days to elect an interim Leader who shall function until Congress elects a Leader.

The Central Executive Committee of the Party met in an emergency session and established a Special Planning Committee to prepare and supervise the implementation of a suitable Programme of Activities through to Mr. Hoyte’s internment expected to be on Monday December 30, 2002.

The Party acknowledges the many expressions of condolence and sympathy, so far received, from a wide cross-section of the Guyanese people at home and abroad, as well as from friends in the Diplomatic Community. It also acknowledges the Public Statement of Condolence by the President on behalf of the Government of Guyana in this regard.

Following consultations between the President and the Chairman of the Party a team from the Party will meet officials of the government tomorrow to discuss and finalise the arrangements for the national funeral programme. 

A Book of Condolence will be opened from 10:00 hrs. on Monday December 23, 2002, in the Hall of Heroes at Congress Place and venues in every Region of Guyana as well as Overseas and will continue on Tuesday 24th, Friday 27th and Saturday 28th December, 2002 between 09:00 hrs. and 18:00 hrs. on each day.

The Book of Condolence in the Regions will be opened, at 10:00 hrs on each of the days mentioned above, at the following places:
Region 1:
(1) Mabaruma
(2) Port Kaituma
Region 6 – (1) The New Amsterdam Town Hall
(2) Rosehall Town Hall
(3) Corriverton Town Hall
Region 2 – The Party’s Office at Anna Regina
Region 7 – (1) the Party’s Office at Bartica
(2) Kurupung
Region 3 – The Party’s Office at Vreed-en-Hoop
Region 8 – (1) Mahdia
(2) North Pakaraimas
Region 4 – (1) R.D.C. Boardroom, Paradise, E.C.D.
(2) The Party’s Office at Durban Street, Georgetown
(3) The Party’s Office at Grove, E.B.D.
Region 9 – Annai
Region 5 – (1) The Party’s Office at D’Edward Village

(2) Fort Wellington
Region 10 – The Linden Town Hall

The Party will keep you updated as details become available.
People’s National Congress Reform
Congress Place, Sophia
2002 December 22